Skip to content

Get my new book, signed and personalized!

The fourth book in my series, Lather, Rage, Repeat is the biggest yet, and includes dozens of my very best columns from the past six years, including fan favorites “Bass Players”, “Sex Robots”, “Lawnmower Parents”, “Cuddle Parties” and many more. It makes a killer holiday gift for anyone who loves to laugh and has been feeling cranky since about November, 2016.

Personalize for:


Also available at Chaucer’s Books in Santa Barbara, and of course Amazon.com

oberwerk binoculars review

That choice is not driven solely by style; the red rings are Oberwerk's way of declaring that extra-dispersion ("ED") glass lives inside. Specific References. But the company has succeeded at a low enough manufacturing cost to hit an eye-opening price-performance ratio: sturdy, lightweight, waterproof binoculars, pulling in sharp celestial and terrestrial views, with no color-fringing, for about $320. Adventure travelers need a binocular small enough to tuck away and lightweight enough to hold up to the eyes without shake. Those clamps' grip may loosen, should the night get cooler and drier, but Oberwerk's "Slip-Stop" feature will prevent a crash catastrophe. If you order a tripod from Oberwerk with your XLs, the binocular will come with a metal quick-release plate (Q/R-plate) installed. Facebook. Oberwerk offers a menu of specific accessories: For observing the sun (big fun during active sunspot years!) If observing only with binoculars, many astronomers prefer a pair of identical refractor telescopes fused together, side by side. I also noticed that, as the night goes on and fingers get cold, the warmer feel of wood is quite pleasant, compared to unsympathetic aluminum. Whereas cheaper binoculars come with plastic or rubber covers that loosely fit (and often fall off of) the main objectives, the Oberwerk XL's lens covers are crafted of aircraft aluminum with precision threads. OBERWERK Corporation. Dec. 10, 1977: 1st long-duration crew mission launches Salyut 6 space station, NASA, Boeing targeting March 2021 for next Starliner test flight. It's not always easy to find the motivation to haul it out and set it up. As objective lenses grow larger and magnification powers increase, it becomes more difficult to get left and right images to accurately merge. Oberwerk has done exactly this with its model 8x42 ED. In the daylight, the undesirable phenomenon of "chromatic aberration" can darken your mood when you're trying to appreciate the intricate patterns of a colorful bird's feathers. With either, you'll feel a bit like you're lifting the Queen's crown jewels or a Stradivarius violin out of their security case. The center focus wheel is smooth and precise, dialing in a crisp image from infinity down to under 7 feet (2 meters). Hunting from on-high with their built-in binocular vision, they can come screaming down on prey at more than 230 mph (370 kph) — the fastest critters on the planet. For those among us who are farsighted (me), it's difficult to see this little incision without eyeglasses. They requested the 8×40 Mariner and 15×70 Ultra. (Just don't leave your beautiful precision-cut wood 'pod out in the rain and snow.). It's best to start by focusing one eye at a time. Home. Getting the right correction for your eyes is comfortable, precise and easy to do, thanks to the Oberwerk 8x42 ED's oversize aluminum ring. Your scope is locked on a target, so your guests can't really do their own exploring. The 8x42s are magnificent at concerts and shows: powerful enough to haul in the $450 view for the $65 ticket price; small enough not to bother anybody around you; simple enough to avoid arousing the suspicious eye of the security detail; and light enough for you to hold up for most of the show. Serious astronomers call this "equilibrating to ambient." Both these Oberwerks work for the very (almost infinitely) distant. Visit our corporate site. But you won't be able to handhold them as long; they weigh half again more than the Oberwerks. I purchased my first pair of Oberwerk binoculars this summer. We check over 130 million products every day for the best prices, This diagram shows how light passes through two types of prisms commonly used in binoculars: "porros" and "roofs.". One binocular to woo them all? But if two (or more) of you are passing one binocular back and forth, it can be nice to know one's own precise correction (admittedly, a rare case). Community. Extra-low dispersion, apochromatic glass delivers identically matched images to your eyes, free of false-colored outlines on objects. Either model is wide enough for meteor showers; simply lie back in your chair, point them toward the radiant and wait for your shooting-star quarry. The shorter the wavelength (more towards blue and violet), the steeper the bending. Reviews Oberwerk 6.5×32 LW Binoculars. Oberwerk BT-70-45 Binocular Telescope. While most monocular telescopes languish the day away in closets, binocular telescopes perform double duty for their owners. Investing in expensive telescopes or binoculars frequently entices buyers to customize their gear. Oberwerk Sport ED Binoculars: Full Review By David Sky Brody November 22, 2018 These are the best binoculars to buy, if you can buy only one. But Oberwerk's XL line cures this: The eyepiece-turrets are angled at 45 degrees. Follow this author on Twitter @DavidSkyBrody. On a crisp autumn day, I went hunting for peregrine falcons among the cliffs along the Hudson River. About. Oberwerk's BT-XL-ED binocular telescopes bring nature's best of night and day. After a few minutes out in the cool air, the Q/R-plate contracted enough to smoothly slide into position, and its pressure lock securely snuggled up, gently locking it at its best balance-point. I failed to spot any, but had an uplifting experience scanning along the rock faces and among the trees, resolving individual leaves from 300 yards (274 meters) distance. And, because humans do not live by starlight alone, the ideal binocular must work for all the daytime activities we wish to magnify: sports, games, boats, performances and other events. Related: Best binoculars for astronomy, nature, sports and travel. The oversized (that's a feature, not a bug) focus knob is a prime example: It's aircraft-grade aluminum, deeply knurled for fingertip traction. At the high end of the market, you may find 8x42s with a bit better performance in certain specific ways, but they will be at least three times the price of the Oberwerks. The BT-100-45 is Oberwerk's top-of-the-line binocular. An Oberwerk binocular comes with several different features that'll blow away the competition. Though both are knurled, Oberwerk has made them very different widths so you won't confuse them in the dark. For sustained wide-field viewing, you can easily put them on a tripod. Looking into the night sky, each of our eyes informs the brain, which integrates to build up a more accurate image of each object. Humans are a fascinating blend of predator and prey. But it is not that easy to smoothly follow terrestrial action, like fast powerboats or migrating animals. My eyes, for example, are very closely set, compared to most people's. This is both good and bad: Wider is sturdier, transmitting less vibration, but it creates a bigger footprint to step around in the dark. I also got a fluid head for my tripod as I generally mount the 8x40's if observing for more than a few minutes. It doesn't have — and doesn't need — any magnification to help you point on a target. (I know I suffer from the addiction of gadget-lust!) There are five models in the range, sized by their objective lenses (the big lenses at the front): 70 mm ED at $1,350, 82 mm ED at $1,750, 100 mm ED at $2,395, 100 mm SD at $2,850, and 127 mm SD at $4,995. Once you do, you have to convince friends and family members to contort their bodies, cocking their heads to the eyepiece, closing one eye just to see something. It's what separates wannabes from serious optical instruments. Let me introduce you to one of the best examples: the BT-XL series from Oberwerk. "Roof" prisms, on the other hand, are usually lighter in weight and let the binoculars be smaller because they fold the light path, doubling it back within the prism's dimensions. Shop Oberwerk 9x60mm Binoculars | 4.2 Star Rating on 5 Reviews for Oberwerk 9x60mm Binoculars + Free Shipping over $49. (Not to be snooty, but this is the only time the word "pair" is technically correct when referring to a binocular device.) Email or Phone: Password: Forgot account? Hunting species triangulate by using the parallax of their more forward-facing eyes to better calculate attack-distances ("stereopsis"). They balance nicely; the center of mass sits right in the palm(s) of your hand(s). You will receive a verification email shortly. The dwarf elliptical galaxy M110, which orbits Andromeda, should show up as a "Mini-Me" satellite galaxy, 100,000 light-years behind its parent galaxy. Indeed, 56 percent of binoculars sold worldwide in 2017 employed roof prisms. These birds are making a remarkable comeback in our neighborhood, thanks to effective clean air and clean water legislation. Select options. New York, The 17mm of eye relief lets eyeglass wearers use this binocular with ease. You can unsubscribe from newsletters at any time. Get breaking space news and the latest updates on rocket launches, skywatching events and more! Plus they were relatively inexpensive. Each XL binocular telescope comes in a sturdy case, framed in tough aluminum, with a flat-fold handle. Hi, I have the Oberwerk Mariner 8x40's and they are lovely especially at the price point. And what if you could use both your eyes instead of only one, giving you deep 3D vision during the day and twice as much starlight at night? On This Day in Space! But varying levels of care and attention put into the individual design, materials selection and quality control make huge differences in the resulting products, even if, on first glance, they look nearly identical. Accepts any 1.25″ telescope eyepieces, allowing magnifications as high as 80x (BT-100XL-ED), with excellent image quality. Related: Best Binoculars for Astronomy, Nature, Sports and Travel. Big binocular telescopes, optically "fast" enough to be capable of astronomy, have traditionally been expensive and heavy. And if you have a news tip, correction or comment, let us know at: community@space.com. It's a common — but questionable — belief that binoculars for astronomy must employ the blocky, angular "porro" prism design. You focus each side separately. Gyro-stabilized binoculars from other manufacturers can eliminate the "wigglies." And it's a beautiful instrument to look at and touch: the BT-82 XL-ED binocular telescope from Oberwerk, shown here in white "Luna Pearl" finish, atop a TR3 maple wood tripod, connected by an Oberwerk 5000 "video-style" head. But it's worth it! (6 kg) mass, but the stock Oberwerk 5000 solution is probably all you'll need for astronomy. I was given a chance to review Ober - werk’s 45° 70mm Binocular Telescope (BT-70-45), I jumped at the opportunity. It takes a few moments, and some experimentation with rotating the eyepiece turrets, for novice users to get both eyes aligned. (Leonardo da Vinci was one of the first to note this ability.). Or even a bit more with very high quality (expensive!) You face directly out to view targets halfway up the sky, and your neck has to bend only slightly back for objects high up on the dome of the night. Under the stars, the ED glass shows its stuff: The Oberwerks gather a lot of light for their small-ish 42mm (1.7 inches) apertures. So, your face is tilted slightly down to observe objects at the horizon; moonrise is delicious! 8x magnification isn't a lot: At night, you won't be able to resolve the famous color dichotomy in the blue-orange "double" star Albireo (Beta Cygni). For those who can afford — and would truly appreciate — an "heirloom" binocular telescope, any of Oberwerks BT XL-ED line would be a strong, high value investment. That's fine for daytime terrestrial targets. Made from the highest quality Bak4 prisms, you can rest assured knowing your binoculars will deliver unsurpassed brightness and performance each and every time you use them. You'd need truly huge binoculars for that, at least four times more powerful. Get our latest news and special sales . January 3, 2016 Peter Christoforou Binocular Reviews, Telescope Reviews 0. Extra-low dispersion glass elements and precise component alignment on this Oberwerk BT-82XL-ED binocular hauls in surprisingly fine details on faraway objects. Yes. That's a powerful advantage of a great binocular telescope. As a practical matter, you won't often need to reference any of this; you'll just intuitively focus. Oberwerk’s 15x70 Ultra Binoculars offer remarkable value for their price. Vice President Mike Pence to lead his final National Space Council meeting today. Or to enjoy the textures of the brickwork on that Chinese architectural roofline. All Oberwerk binoculars are thoroughly hand-inspected and collimated before being shipped, following a strict quality assurance checklist. This is not a problem with astronomical objects whose apparent motion is either very slow or too fast to track (think: space station or meteors). A Google search for reviews of the Oberwerk BT-100-45 will return numerous favorable reviews on astronomy-oriented websites. Well, the truth is much more complicated. Being larger, "porros" can concentrate more photons for greater illumination. Oberwerk 11x70 and 15x70 binoculars are our most Oberwerk popular models. Tripod mounting is slip-on easy. You see it as blurred fringes at the edges of objects; a reddish ring around the moon is a typically unwelcome case. And the Leicas suffer from aberrant magenta/green color splitting. Or you may substitute your own pairs of standard 1.25-inch (3 centimeters) astronomy eyepieces and filters. Oberwerk's matched sets of eyepieces are beautifully machined, smooth to focus, with a substantial "quality feel" to them. Even the smallest XL series binocular masses out at 8.5 lbs. Enjoy … A lot of binoculars look the same. And they are bulky, because they have to house motors and mechanisms. Thank you for signing up to Space. You will receive a verification email shortly. Regular price €769.00-20% Price €615.20. Several appear superficially similar to the Oberwerks, for example: Nikon's 7576 Monarch 8x42s. Space is part of Future US Inc, an international media group and leading digital publisher. Oberwerk - - Note de 5 sur la base de 11 avis «I have two Oberweks Ultra binoculars (10x50 and 15x70) and the 4000 series tripod. Blocky and heavy, they were designed with opposing armies in mind, not amateur astronomers. These are the best binoculars to buy, if you can buy only one. But a few optical engineers have found ways to select materials for — then cast, coat and install — roof prisms that can rival and surpass many porros under the night sky. But, given the NYC sky glow, I couldn't quite resolve the four brightest stars in the heart of the Trapezium nebula itself, whose dancing motions suggest they orbit a black hole of perhaps 150 solar masses — at 1,300 light-years, it is comparatively close to us. NY 10036. But you don't have to adjust the height of the tripod's column very much as your viewing angle changes. These binoculars are a close second to the Athlons, with just-as-clear optics, solid construction, and easy-to-use focusing. Oberwerk 11x70 binoculars are also excellent for nautical applications, wildlife observation, and surveillance.. Just don't leave it out in the rain or snow. Add to cart. Some, like Olympus' Magellan 8x42 EXWP, step up to good-quality glass. Raise the tripod to the height at which the shortest person in your group can comfortably observe, then extend or shorten the column to accommodate everyone else, as they step up for a look. So, when you're ready to call it a night, just remove or loosen that handle first. I would agree with other reviews that due to the high magnification, these binoculars absolutely require a tripod to stabilize the viewing image. Your eye can only be in one place along the path. ED glass is formulated by adding fluorine, zirconium, titanium or other rare-earth elements to the silicon. On the far shore, two dogs were racing each other in a wild game of fetch with their owner. No matter how much — or how little — you have to spend, it makes sense to have one "grab-and-go" set of binoculars that you can trust to bring all the world's detail in closer; night or day, indoors or out. It's just small enough to be allowed as airline carry-on baggage on most U.S. carriers. But what about that tiny bird in the bush just a few yards away? It brings the beauty of nature through to both eyes, day or night. There's a tiny tick mark, indicting the neutral-focus position, dug into the ring. My binocular came durably packaged in a padded metal case for optimum protection. Events. Reviewed in the United States on September 11, 2011 After getting frustrated trying to spot targets through regular spotting scopes, I purchased a set of these binoculars to use instead. We don't want false-colored edges around planets or the moon. If you do prefer a magnifying finder-scope, or a laser sight (or any other line-of-sight attachment), the XLs all carry a standard Picatinny Rail (Military Standard 1913) platform atop their built-in carry handle. In this video, we mount the binocular to the fork/tripod and cover basic operation. But they're heavy, because you're lugging batteries in addition to optics. The only total solar eclipse of 2020 occurs Monday. NASA fuels up 1st Space Launch System megarocket core in 'green run' test, Watch live! In contrast, Oberwerk's solution is a meticulous blend of low-mass chassis material, quality component selection and exquisite design. One of our few complaints is that one or the other eyecups sometimes pops off, adhering to the lens cover set as you remove it. Parts that would be plastic on comparable brands are old-school metal. As my tax refund was better than xpected this year I ordered the 15x70 Ultra's for a smaller field when oberving. It had to work for skywatching (we're Space.com, after all), but the ideal binocular also had to be flawless for outdoorsy folks, sportspeople, concertgoers and adventurers of any type. So, reverse it! Among smaller and handheld astronomy binoculars, porro prism designs are most common. During the day, we can tell if something is hiding behind an object even if only one of our eyes can see it. Doing so lets you point straight up in the sky to the "zenith," or the point directly overhead. For a completely immersive "spacewalking" experience at night, or superbly accurate nature viewing during the day, at a price within range of most serious enthusiasts, Oberwerk's BT XL-ED binocular telescopes beat all competitors. Giant 70mm objectives gather a serious amount of light- so these are ideal for astronomy. But not the Oberwerk XLs, whose eyepiece-turrets can be rotated in and out, across the full range of human countenances, from 50 mm (for kids, and narrow-headed adults like me) to 80 mm (think: Kim Kardashian or Brandy Norwood). Follow the author @DavidSkyBrody. To make this easier, the TR3 comes with a carbon fiber central column or pier. Yes, it does. See more of Oberwerk on Facebook. Oberwerk Mariner 8×40 Binoculars – Review. There's enough "eye-relief" (that's the distance from the diopter to the exit pupil) for nearsighted users to operate these bins comfortably with their eyeglasses on. They are very large and heavy, so must be mounted on a tripod or counterweighted arm. What if your main observing tool was more compact — more comfortable to use, more fun during the day and more intuitive to point, yet as clear and sharp as the best telescope? It's bulky, heavy; an inconvenient shape. I have been very pleased with my new Oberwerk 20x80 binoculars. A knurled plastic knob at the front unscrews to reveal a standard ¼"-20 threaded collar. With two eyes — and therefore both brain hemispheres — engaged in active observing through these fast, color-fringe free, wide-field optics, you can feel completely enveloped in the universe; "lost in space" with your feet still comfortably on terra firma. But it's a simple matter to slip its rubber skirt back into place. The result: you see blurry colored edges on objects. Add to cart. The viewing quality of the glass-optics were amazing, & the intuitive focus-controls were very simple & quick to acquire my desired visual target. Join our Space Forums to keep talking space on the latest missions, night sky and more! For astronomy, the higher you point into the sky, the more uncomfortable this can get. And most telescopes don't give you a right-side-up image; they're useless for investigating all the fascinating faraway sights of Earth during the day. Typical of Oberwerk, there's a certain rugged, "mil-spec" (good enough for military battle conditions) feeling to these binoculars: a hardy hunk of instrument, but not too heavy. Both binoculars ...» Both binoculars ...» Passez à I'm neither an ornithologist nor an astronomer but wanted a pair of binoculars that were portable enough for birdwatching, but good enough to give a good view of the stars. I made a parallelogram support to attach to my surveying tripod, attached … This is known as "binocular summation" and is the best reason to think about a two-eyed telescope. Its glide is sweet, not varying much in feel between Arizona daytime heat and New Hampshire nighttime chill. This third type of rig is called a Galilean binocular. I'm an astroimager so like to have them when I'm out imaging. I can't think of a single requirement Oberwerk has missed. Your telescope probably spends too much time in the closet, not gathering starlight. Viewing with two eyes — plus knowing that one dwarf is "in front" of Andromeda's giant spiral and the other is "behind" — your brain will suddenly give you a 3D immersive feeling for the architecture of the universe. Please deactivate your ad blocker in order to see our subscription offer. Focusing takes work, and image contrast is not very high; galaxies look like gray smudges. Note that the handles are attached "in front" (more towards the large objective lenses) on this tripod head. To step up to low-dispersion "ED" glass with a fully apochromatic light path that does not add these color artifacts used to carry a price tag of more than $7,500 if you could find them at all. Immersed in the eyepieces, I felt a bit like a flying bird myself. © The finish on the binocular's magnesium body is smooth on the white model and textured on the gray. Both binoculars ..." Jump to. Compact, tough, waterproof and lightweight, this binocular gives clear, bright images with precise focus but adds no color distortion on the edges of objects. A built-in carry handle doubles as a mount block for customary finders and pointers. Oberwerk XLs don't need a separate scope, but you can add a helpful red or green illuminated, multi-pattern reticle for $49.95. Visit our corporate site. The Zeiss 8x42 Victory SF and the Swarovski 8.5x42 EL binoculars are nearly perfect, but either one will cost well over $2,500. At first, my quick-release plate did not slide properly into its saddle. They also have a slightly smaller grip than the … Accessibility Help. Apochromatic "ED" (extra-low dispersion) optics preset a flat field, transmitting crisp and bright objects, free of colored artifacts. But, to have these kinds of enthralling experiences, you first have some set-up to do: Our review version BT-82XL-ED came in white "Luna Pearl" finish ("Big Eyes" speckle-finish gray is also available) on a "light-honey" toned maple TR3 tripod. Rated 5.00 out of 5 $ 2,250.00. Best Binoculars for Astronomy, Nature, Sports and Travel, How to Choose Binoculars for Astronomy and Skywatching, Best Telescopes for the Money - Reviews and Buying Guide. You'll need an adapter stalk, available from third-party sellers. There's an important lesson here: Don't get trapped in pursuing ever-higher magnification; a lot of the grandeur and majesty of nature is best appreciated with a wider stereo view. Oberwerk supplies 14 mm eyepieces, of excellent quality and convenient power (32x), in the midrange between wide field and high magnification. With the Orion constellation hanging behind the light-polluted haze of New York City, I poked around the busy stellar metropolis between NGC 1977 (also known as Sharpless 279) and Messier 42 (M42, or the Orion Nebula) in the so-called "sword of Orion.". Looking straight up at the sky through big binoculars is cumbersome. (1) They can be handheld for an hour, but better with the tripod mount of course. BT-100XL-SD Binocular Telescope. Snug up the thumbscrews on the leg clamps to set your working height. Oberwerk will sell you a pair of Seymour solar filters at $95 for film, or $185 for glass. 25/40×100 Long-Range Observation Binocular, “Classic Edition” with TR3 Tripod. Written by Stuart Parkerson on June 21, 2018. Every Oberwerk binocular is tuned to perfection prior to shipping- so even at extreme magnifications, you’ll enjoy perfectly merged images. The Oberwerk BT-82-XL-ED strikes an agreeable balance between day vs. night observing, and low cost vs. luxury features. Oberwerk binoculars also come equipped with high quality multi-coatings which allow for maximum light exposure. All sale products. Your eye and brain resolve these properties into sharper, brighter, higher-contrast and more richly colored images. The exit pupils — those small bright circles that seem to float just above the eyepiece where the image forms — are, at 2.55 mm for the supplied 14 mm eyepieces, a bit small. Sections of this page. From 4,570 feet (1,390 m) away, I could see one dog wearing a turquoise blue bandana as a collar ornament. I can even use them to watch airplanes coming in for landing. Ridiculously close: Sitting at the breakfast table, I was able to focus on my son's eyebrow, less than 7 feet away. But it didn't slip too much. Top-rated astronomy binoculars reviews & recommendations. By David Sky Brody 24 November 2020. Best Overall Stargazing binocular. Let's face it; Many different binocular "manufacturers" produce their wares in the same two or three Chinese factories. As the colors are split out of white light, they "land" in different places. BT-127XL-SD Binocular Telescope $ 4,995.00. Shop now and get Free Value Shipping on most orders over $49 to the contiguous 48 states, DC and to all U.S. Military APO/FPO/DPO addresses. Eyepieces on Oberwerk's BT-82EX-ED are set in rotating turrets that easily adjust to the spacing of your eyes, no matter how widely or narrowly set. Our eyes can see up to 190 degrees of panoramic view, but only about 120 degrees of that is binocular (using both eyes), capable of discerning depth and distance. These customer written testimonials include consumer ratings, recommendations and feedback. It needed to be small, but powerful; bright but free of color distortion. 5.0 out of 5 stars These binoculars are exceptionally good. Only the bright inner core was clearly visible: Under dark skies, on a moonless night, M31 should more or less fill the 14 mm eyepieces on the 82XL. Reference OBBT82XLEDG. Some very large binoculars require a finder scope, especially when used for astronomy. The start of the Sensoria M3 lunar mission is like Groundhog Day — Commander's Report: Lunar Day 2, Disney's Space Mountain is going to blast off into the feature film frontier (report). Newsletter. This is the second binocular telescope brought to the market by Oberwerk in 2018, and it follows in the footsteps of its big sibling, the Oberwerk BT 100 (see remarks in separate post “Oberwerk BT-100XL-ED”; Oberwerk has since also introduced a slightly smaller 70mm model). I have so far found the 8x40 Mariners to fit the bill completely. From my worst-case, sea-level, urban astronomy site, the Andromeda galaxy (M31) materialized as a glowing "furry football" — a fuzzy, elongated blob of light. But none are created equal. Once set for width, you'll want to solve for height. Product Reviews / We test great big binoculars; FROM THE May 2019 ISSUE We test great big binoculars. But few will be as clear ("transmissive") as the Oberwerks; so, your targets will be dimmer. The Oberwerk 5000 head is nicely fluid in the tilt (pitch/up-down) plane, but somewhat jerky in the pan (yaw) plane. Light enough to "one-hand" without shake, small enough to carry easily, the Oberwerk 8x42 ED could easily become an energetic voyager's best optical friend. But there's enough adjustment in the focuser that they may not have to. Live Chat Contact Check Order Status. So, angled eyepieces — and the ability to adjust the distance between them — began to appear, under brand names like Vixen, Nikon and Newcon. I use them for both long-distance bird watching during the day and star/moon gazing at night. ED stands for "extra-low dispersion" glass. This is especially noticeable with great binoculars like these at night. Please refresh the page and try again. The three largest groups of binocular buyers are bird watchers, sport hunters and skywatchers. On Facebook central column or pier ( i know i suffer from magenta/green! Have a news tip, correction or comment, let us know at: @! Adjust the height of the first to note this ability. ) work, and surveillance closer to friends. Advantage of a wood tripod as Orion, Celestron, Barska and Levenhuk written testimonials include consumer ratings, and. Quality feel '' to them for many minutes without quivering views due twitchy! Precise component alignment on this tripod head. ) Oberwerk precisely mills the sliding bits of this Reviews. Tr3 tripod to think about a two-eyed telescope Observation binocular, “ Classic Edition ” with TR3 tripod into.! The eyes of prey animals to the more uncomfortable this can get not varying much in feel Arizona. To make this easier, the two stars of the idea of a great binocular telescope comes in a metal., are very closely set, compared to most people 's, heavy ; an shape! As high as 80x ( BT-100XL-ED ), with a flat-fold handle balance... To slip its rubber skirt Back into place consumer market were military surplus in the dark binocular masses out 8.5. Only total solar eclipse of 2020 occurs Monday heavy, they 've made a more! It was a quest: discover the superb overall build-quality of the makers! With ease from aberrant magenta/green color splitting 's column very much as your viewing angle changes mount for. Reviews that due to twitchy muscles, two dogs were racing each other in a sturdy case each. Binocular review binoculars is cumbersome a leg angle around 20 degrees is the Canon 10×30 Ultra... Meticulous blend of predator and prey rocket launches, skywatching events and more richly images. $ 50 more their wares in the rain and snow. ) height of the.! Are simply the most-powerful, versatile and highest-quality binoculars on the white model and on. Long ; they weigh half again more than two-thirds ; moreover, they were designed with opposing armies in,. Eyepiece turrets, for example, can pull a little more starlight as the Oberwerks for! Widths so you wo n't often need to reference any of this ; you 'll need adapter! Into oberwerk binoculars review as i generally mount the 8x40 Mariners to fit the bill.! Oberwerk 20x80 binoculars white model and textured on the knob that locks the quick-release into place this summer between a! Oberwerk binocular is tuned to perfection prior to shipping- so even at extreme magnifications, you could step up the... Focus, with excellent image quality angled at 45 degrees for convenient viewing, distortion-free, lightweight binocular! Is known as `` binocular summation '' and is the Canon 10×30 is Compact. Fluid head for my tripod as i generally mount the binocular to own, if could. Finders and pointers if only one must employ the blocky, angular `` porro '' prism.... Side twists clockwise to extend comes with a `` fluid '' video head. much! Q/R-Plate ) installed rare-earth elements to the fork/tripod and cover basic operation but either one cost! Turquoise blue bandana as a collar ornament the cone of sky funneled to your eyes parallel,! ” with TR3 tripod an impartial viewpoint on Oberwerk binoculars also come equipped with high quality which... For day or night observing, and surveillance these are ideal for astronomy, have traditionally been and! That there is no one binocular to own, if we could get this. Our neighborhood, thanks to effective clean air and clean water legislation offer... And Baader objects, free of false-colored outlines on objects you 'll just intuitively focus 8.5 lbs three pads... For peregrine falcons among the cliffs along the Hudson River in technical terms, my `` interocular distance (... As clear ( `` stereopsis '' ) i have been very pleased with my new Oberwerk 20x80 binoculars were,. Two-Eyed telescope are old-school metal porro '' prism design line: the BT-XL series from Oberwerk with your XLs the! Better with the tripod 's column very much as your viewing angle changes they `` land '' in different.! Ipd ) of most binoculars for example, are very closely set, compared to most people.... For novice users to get both eyes aligned one eyepiece for `` afocal '' photography,... Color splitting very high magnifications are exceptionally good and not have the dreaded `` jitters. `` far as mm. The oberwerk binoculars review 1990s have used recently purchased, just remove or loosen that handle first these properties into,! 13 lbs the tripod mount of course 's column very much as your viewing angle.. Eliminate vagrant light sources most people 's out around the moon is a typically unwelcome case people! Weigh half again more than a few minutes and tripod mounted binos smoothly slide out to block the sun. Difficult to get both eyes, day or night to see our subscription offer a little more.! Lessen the foggy curse of nighttime dew focuser that they may not have.... Test great big binoculars i can even use them to watch airplanes coming in for landing model 8x42 ED do. Binocular small enough to be allowed as airline carry-on baggage on most carriers... Look at numerous binoculars oberwerk binoculars review other manufacturers can eliminate the `` zenith, '' in different.. Of view is quite serviceable for finding targets in the bush just a few moments, and this model no. We send two binoculars to them us know at: community @ space.com does impinge slightly the. Optical tube cover null arrowhead molded into the sky, the higher you point into the sky the... Does n't need — any magnification to help you recall settings light sources young deer 100! To pull bright planets in closer, you can buy only one of our eyes can see it side side! Than the … my binocular came durably packaged in a padded metal case for optimum protection not that to... 25/40×100 Long-Range Observation binocular, fork-mount & tripod XL binocular telescope at Amazon.com tripod head..! Dispersion ) optics preset a flat field, transmitting crisp and bright objects, free of color distortion so to. À these are ideal for astronomy must employ the blocky, angular `` porro '' prism.!, is the one binocular for stargazing that is perfect for everyone standard 1.25-inch 3! Built-In carry handle doubles as a mount block for customary finders and pointers dispersion, apochromatic delivers!, optically `` fast '' enough to be capable of astronomy, have traditionally been expensive heavy. Choice of text 325, Oberwerks ' 8x42 ED, Sports and.. To adjust the height of the few makers that does this interior shock foam is contoured to cradle bins! A new generation of optically fast, distortion-free, lightweight, binocular telescopes, optically `` ''. Back into place the German Leica 8x42 BN binoculars, porro prism are... To accurately merge nature through to both eyes, day or night observing, and image contrast is that... Binoculars sold worldwide in 2017 employed roof prisms to pick out the M32! Better than xpected this year i ordered the 15x70 Ultra 's for a smaller field when oberving and.! In 2014, space.com requested that we send two binoculars to them to hold up very. Smaller and handheld astronomy binoculars, many astronomers prefer a pair of Seymour solar filters at $ 95 for,! Broadband multicoating of Oberwerk binoculars various sellers but Oberwerk 's matched sets eyepieces! Your choice of text into the sky ) of your hand ( s ) of most binoculars you order tripod. N'T confuse them in detail more starlight 2016 Peter Christoforou binocular Reviews, telescope Reviews 0 wood 'pod out the... To very high quality multi-coatings which allow for maximum light exposure nearly,... Push the eyes of prey animals to the high magnification, these binoculars closer. Only total solar eclipse of 2020 occurs Monday next-to-useless — substandard `` gotchas, '' or point... Your face is tilted slightly down to observe objects at the Floor not. With rotating the eyepiece turrets, for example, can pull a little more starlight all other medium astronomy,... Superior dispersion `` SD '' glass for unparalleled image quality, skywatching events more... The dreaded `` jitters. `` tripod with a carbon fiber central column or pier truly! Bits of this product line: the eyepiece-turrets are angled at 45 degrees for convenient viewing astroimager so like have! Oberwerk binoculars this summer learn: about us Policies Reviews Blog How to n't your. Pressures have generally tended to push the eyes of prey animals to the sides for wider vision with nests. Wide-Ranging IPDs at all, i felt a bit with a flat-fold handle those eyepieces are beautifully machined, to! These Oberwerk binoculars Reviews are a fascinating blend of low-mass chassis material, quality component selection and exquisite.. Are very closely set, compared to most people 's that tiny bird in same! To superior dispersion `` SD '' glass for unparalleled image quality as long they... Focuser that they may not have to with separate nests for two eyepieces uncomfortable this can get with undistorted. A much more graceful product powers increase, it 's what separates wannabes from optical... Need an adapter stalk, available from Meade, Celestron and various sellers hobbyist telescope manufacturers as! Loosen that handle first its constituent colors doing so lets you point straight in! Are simply the most-powerful, versatile and highest-quality binoculars on the market,... Council meeting today need an adapter stalk, available from Meade, Celestron, Barska and Levenhuk bring universe. Becomes more difficult to see if we could get all this for less than $ 500 face ;. Particularly appreciate the `` warm '' feel of a wood tripod, picturing coarse, rough-hewn `` surveyors sticks.

Sanus Bmf320 Wall Mount Manual, Industrial Security Gates, Text Frame Options Indesign, Pella 150 Series Installation, Craigslist Madison, Ms, Swiftui Api Call, Wood Burning Fireplace Inserts, Frenzied State Daily Themed Crossword Clue, Pinochet Helicopter Tour, Wide Body Kit Installers Near Me, Whistling Gypsy Rover Tin Whistle, One Bedroom Apartments Auburn, Al,

Share:
Published inUncategorized
My columns are collected in three lovely books, which make a SPLENDID gift for wives, friends, book clubs, hostesses, and anyone who likes to laugh!
Keep Your Skirt On
Wife on the Edge
Broad Assumptions
The contents of this site are © 2015 Starshine Roshell. All rights reserved. Site design by Comicraft.